Frequently Asked Questions
How much is the pecan assessment and how do I pay the assessment?
The assessment is 1/2 cent per pound of pecans sold. It is normally paid (or deducted from your total) to the first handler when you sell your pecans. The first handler is required to send in the assessment to the Texas Pecan Board. If you don't sell to a first handler or it is not deducted then you can send in the assessment as a grower and forms are under the Forms/Information tab above.
I heard the assessment was voluntary for growers, that I don't have to pay if I don't want to pay, is that true?
The assessment is not voluntary for growers and under state law all growers or first handlers must send in the assessment. So, if you did not pay your assessment when you sold your pecans then it is your responsibility as a grower to send in the assessment. If you paid the assessment and the first handler failed to remit the assessment then they face the penalty not you as a grower.
What happens if I don't pay the assessment?
First, pecan growers will get a letter from me, the Executive Director, asking if you paid the assessment or if you intend to pay the assessment. TPB is a grower board and we don't want to see any grower face any financial hardship and we will work with you about paying your assessments in a timely manner. If you do not intend to pay your assessment then the Texas Department of Agriculture will contact you and begin their process for collection. Failure to comply with assessment requirements, as required by the Texas Agriculture Code, may result in actions including, administrative penalties (up to $5,000 per day), civil or criminal penalties (District Court of Travis County), and possible suspension of licenses issued by the Department.
Can I get a refund?
Yes, you can get a refund. Certainly the TPB wants to conduct Promotion, Research and Education programs that benefit all growers. We hope that you will see the benefits that all growers experience when they cooperative together to develop the kinds of activities individual growers just cannot do. But, if you still want a refund then you must first verify that you paid the 1/2 cent per pound of pecans assessment. After that is verified and you submit a Refund Request Form then your check is mailed ASAP. But, you must do this every year, with a separate form each year.
Who is exempt from paying the assessment and what do they do?
Pecan producers with less than 500 trees on at least 15 acres are exempt from the 1/2 cent per pound assessment. The First Handler must have the pecan producer complete a Pecan Producer Exemption Form provided by the Board and return the Pecan Producer Exemption Form with the First Handler Form.