TEXAS PECAN BOARD

Texas Pecan Board Meeting Minutes

Thursday, September 10, 2020, 10:30 AM 4075 U.S. Hwy 190 West, San Saba, Texas

TPB Members Present: Tami Sorrells, Mike Adams, Larry Don Womack, Jennifer Ivey, Dennis Hardman, Lance Lampman and Glen Honaker. were sworn in

TPB Members Absent: Rodney Myers and Kortney Chase

Others Present: Bob Whitney – TPB Executive Director, Patrick Dudley - TDA, Allison Beadle, Mary Kimbrough and Megan Lacy - Wild Hive, Blair Krebs – Texas Pecan Growers Association and Pecan South, Emma Garner – American Pecan Council, and Kyle Brookshire – TPB advisor and wife Nina.

Joe Massey and Troy Swift were present to open the meeting and later sworn in as new members.

President Larry Don Womack called the meeting to order at 10:42 am.

Larry Don asked all members and guests to introduce themselves and thanked everyone for making the effort to meet in-person. He also thanked Dennis Hardman for hosting the meeting at his lodge.

Next the minutes of the August 7 conference call meeting were discussed and being no changes Glen moved to approve and Jennifer seconded, All Aye.

Next Bob Whitney with Patrick Dudley gave a report of the election ballot counting process and vote count. Ruby Lesley, Comanche County Clerk served to supervise the entire election process until ballots were counted. Ballot counts were made by Comanche County Judge Davis, County Extension Agent Mike Berry, Patrick Dudley – TDA and Bob Whitney. Elected were Tami Sorrells, Troy Swift and Joe Massey.

Next Patrick Dudley with TDA swore in the newly elected members, Tami Sorrells, Troy Swift and Joe Massey. All took the oath of office and are members until 2026.

President Womack next thank the retiring members Kyle Brookshire, Glen Honaker, David Leonard and Errol John Dietze for their long years of service to TPB. Mike Adams was called on to talk about their contribution to TPB and to the Texas pecan industry. Patrick Dudley brought Certificates of Appreciation for each retiring member in recognition of service and TDA Commissioner of Agriculture Sid Miller made each retiring member Honorary Commissioner of Agriculture for the Day.

Next officer elections were held for President, Vice President, and Secretary/Treasurer. Mike Adams nominated Larry Don for President and Jennifer seconded, and with no further

TEXAS PECAN BOARD

nominations all voted Aye. Joe Massey nominated Rodney Myers for Vice President and Dennis seconded. There being no further nominations all voted Aye. Larry Don nominated Tami Sorrells as Secretary/Treasurer and Dennis seconded. There were no further nominations and all voted Aye.

Patrick then gave a short presentation and discussion about the requirement that board members go online and receive training about the Open Meetings Act and responsibility to follow the rules as board members.

Next, President Womack called on Allison Beadle and the Wild Hive team to discuss pecan promotion programs coming up. The major emphasis is on the Toast to Texas Pecan Month with Texas Wine Month. They showed the materials and discussed how the promotion would work.

Next, Blair Krebs with the Texas Pecan Growers talked about the strategic plan they Aare working on and other issues with TPGA.

Next, Emma Garner with American Pecan Council presented information on the programs being conducted and the new board members.

Next, President Womack gave a report from the National Pecan Federation where he serves as Vice Chair.

Bob Whitney then gave a financial report for the 2019-2020 year. Tami Sorrells voted to approve and Joe Massey seconded it, all Aye.

Bob Whitney then talked about grant programs being conducted by TPB including Pecan Economic Benchmarks; Pecan Weevil Pheromone Development; Pecan Weevil Education/Monitoring; Agricultural Commodity Export Support.

Next, President Womack had some discussion of crops, crop prices, TPB issues and future meetings. No action was taken

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by Bob Whitney, 9-23-20