TexasPecanBoard

www. Texas Pecan Board. com

Texas Pecan Board (TPB) Meeting Minutes Thursday, March 23rd, 2023, 1:30 P.M. CST

Texas A&M AgriLife Boardroom, College Station, TX

<u>TPB Members Present:</u> Troy Swift, Rodney Myers, Dennis Hardman, Joe Massey, Jennifer Ivey, Zachary Swick, Lalo Medina, Jake Montz

<u>Guests:</u> Blair Krebs, Meghan Mabry, and Jaclyn Uzcategui (TPGA); Patrick Dudley (TDA); Will Cullers, James Livergood, Shannon Ivey, Mary Elizabeth Santos; Warren Chatwin, Joshua Udall, Xinwang Wang, Keith Kubenka, Angelyn Hilton, Charles Suh, Lindsey Perkin

Texas Pecan Board (TPB) President Troy Swift called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M. CST. He called the board roll call, establishing a quorum, and asked guests to introduce themselves.

President Troy Swift moved immediately to the guest presentation by USDA-ARS entomologists Dr. Charles Suh and Dr. Lindsey Perkin on the research being done studying pecan weevil.

After the presentation and questions, the board reviewed the meeting minutes from the January 23rd, 2023 virtual meeting. Joe Massey made the motion to approve the minutes. Dennis Hardman second the motion, all voted in favor, and the meeting minutes were approved.

Contractor Blair Krebs then presented the financials and gave an update on TPB activities. The need to renew the contracted work with the Texas Pecan Growers Association (TPGA) staff members was addressed. Zachary Swick made the motion to keep the TPGA staff members as contractors for TPB. Jake Montz second the motion, all voted in favor, and the motion passed.

The meeting then moved to the agenda item addressing pecan quarantine counties for weevil. After sample collections have been taken for two years by Texas AgriLife, it is determined that Pecos County has had weevil functionally eradicated. Jake Montz made the motion to submit the results to Texas Department of Agriculture and request as a board that the status of Pecos County be changed to functionally eradicated. Jennifer Ivey seconded the motion. A vote was taken with Zachary Swick recusing himself from the vote, and all other board members voted in favor, motion passed. President Troy Swift formed a working group that was assigned the task of identifying the next counties to target for removal from the weevil quarantine. Zachary Swick and Dennis Hardman were named to the working group.

TPB compliance and audit expectations was then discussed. Troy Swift named a working group of Lalo Medina, Dennis Hardman, and Jennifer Ivey to continue working with TDA and their representatives to understand the procedures going forward. The group will report their findings at the next meeting.

The board members then each presented their ideas for future TPB activities and goals. The group also discussed possible future pecan endowments at Texas A&M and the work being done by the Texas Pecan Growers Association (TPGA).

Action was taken to change the TPB mission statement. Jennifer Ivey made the motion to change the TPB mission statement to read; "To develop, promote, and protect the Texas Pecan Industry." Zachary Swick seconded the motion, all voted in favor, and the motion passed.

The next TPB meeting was set for Sunday, July 30th at the TPGA Conference in Denton. With no further business, Joe Massey made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Zachary Swick seconded the motion, all voted in favor, and the meeting was adjourned at 4:09 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Blair Krebs